ABOUT US

Our History

Serving the Needy with Respect and Dignity

The Franciscan Center, the Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Building

The Franciscan Sisters of Baltimore began their ministry in 1891. They fed the hungry and cared for orphans. Recognizing the dignity of each human being and serving all people with respect were cornerstones of their ministry.

By the mid-1960s, the Franciscan’s building at 2212 Maryland Avenue was nearly empty, and the Provincial wanted to put the building to better use. Sister Irene Marshiano was assigned to survey the community and determine what they needed. MUND (Model Urban Neighborhood Development) identified emergency food and clothing services as the most pressing needs.

With a single gift of Pioneer Natural Gas Company stock (donated by Helene and Robert Rea of Philadelphia) and space provided by the Franciscans, the Franciscan Center opened on September 10, 1968. Sister Irene was the first director. Of the early days, she recalled, “There were just two of us [Sisters], plus Third Order members and lay volunteers. The first month, we served 30 people.”

As time passed, the needs of our clients increased. In 1980, the Center acquired the adjoining row house. With the opening of a dining room, hot meals could be provided instead of sandwiches. The second floors were used for the new Emergency Assistance Program and AIDS Outreach program. A pantry program was also developed to provide clients with groceries to take home.

By the early 1990s, the two row houses were inadequate and in need of extensive repairs. With the closing of the St. Francis School at 2226 Maryland Avenue, the Sisters offered the vacant school to the Center. In 1993, the Center moved from its humble origins to a modern, state-of-the-art building.

We now offer a continuum of care that includes food, clothing, emergency health services, counseling and technology training to help clients become as self-sufficient as possible.

Mission

The mission of the Franciscan Center is to provide emergency assistance and supportive outreach to persons who are economically disadvantaged in an effort to assist them in realizing their self-worth and dignity as people of God.

Our Board & Staff

Board of Directors

Thomas Phelan, Chesapeake Employers Insurance CompanyCo-Chair
Kevin Willie, CBRE, Co-Chair

Craig Hoffman, Baltimore Lab School
Solomon Johnson, Illustrator
John Lindsay, Legg Mason
Sister Lorraine McGraw, OSF, Sisters of St. Francis of Assisi
Dr. Maria-Theresa Okafor, Maryland Department of Health
Thomas Spray-Fry, Heritage Financial Consultants
Sr. Mary Therese White, Aisling Community
Tracy Wilson-Oakley, Northrop Grumman Corp.
J. Timothy Reid
John Meehan, Asset Strategy Consultants
Brian Corbett, Chesapeake Employers’ Insurance Company

Board of Members

Sister Diana DeBruin, OSF, Director
Sister Ellen Carr, OSF, Associate Director
Sister Kathryn Dean Strandell, OSF, Associate Director

OSF Liaison to Corporate Ministries

Sister Joanne Schatzlein, OSF

Administration & Development

Executive Director
Jeffrey Griffin
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 115
jgriffin@fcbmore.org

Director of Finance
Vaughan Hastings
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 119
vhastings@fcbmore.org

Director of  Outreach
Angela Hall
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 113
ahall@fcbmore.org

Development & Communications Manager
Benjamin Trently
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 117
btrently@fcbmore.org

Grants Manager
Kathi Shamer
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 121
katherineashamer@yahoo.com

Responsive Services

Director of Responsive Services
Judy Dobson
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 107
jdobson@fcbmore.org

Clothing & Food Pantry Coordinator 
Tyreka Davis
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 100
tdavis@fcbmore.org

Interviewer & Social Worker
Sister Mary Jeanne Quinlivan
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 110
squinlivan@fcbmore.org

Interviewer & Social Worker
Dan Bitzel
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 105
dbitzel@fcbmore.org

Case Manager
Haydee Rodriguez
410-467-5340, Ext. 106
hrodriguez@fcbmore.org

Housing & Employment Coordinator
Steve Corozzi
410-467-5340, Ext. 108
scorozzi@fcbmore.org

Food & Empowerment Services

Culinary Director
Chef Steven Albright 

(410) 467-5340, Ext. 129
salbright@fcbmore.org

Lead Cook
Brenda Hampton

(410) 467-5340, Ext. 130

Cook
Will Byrd

(410) 467-5340, Ext. 130

Cook
Kesha Bogan
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 130

Kitchen Assistant
Jeffrey Rogers
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 130

Empowerment Services & Technical Resources Coordinator
Debbie Reigle
(410) 467-5340, Ext. 120
dreigle@fcbmore.org

Job Opportunities

Thank you for visiting the Job Opportunities page. There are no openings at this time.